THIS

the epic fantasy adventure begins

Remy Dean
48 min readMar 27, 2020

--

PART ONE

an epic fantasy novel by Remy Dean with Zel Cariad

PLEASE NOTE: This is a Read-for-Free extended book sample presented by kind permission of The Red Sparrow Press. It is deemed suitable for readers as young as middle-grade and all the family. Also free to read via Amazon with KindleUnlimited, if you prefer — also options to buy to keep as e-book and paperback. Enjoy!

It began a long time ago, but for Rietta, it really began when she met Carla, another very special and extraordinary person, and realised that they shared the same dreams. Or did it all start when Rietta and Carla found the severely injured dog in the woods, becoming firm friends as they tried to nurse it back to health and happiness?

Then there was the ‘thing’ that they glimpsed watching them from the shadows, and the mystery of the missing standing-stone… but when they find the key to another realm, well, then things really start happening!

This is the first in a new epic fairy-tale trilogy, This, That and the Other, imaginative fantasy, on an epic scale. The story follows the special friendship between two girls who embark on a magical adventure together, across the three realms. A modern fable inspired by fairy tales and folklore, in the tradition of The Neverending Story, The Box of Delights, The Chronicles of Narnia...

THIS, THAT & THE OTHER BOOK ONE, PART ONE:

THAT REALM, WHEREIN WE HUME DO DWELL

For your convenience this table of contents is linked to each chapter, so even if you close your browser, you can can click and ‘jump-to’ where you left off…

Prologue: Where to Begin? (not included in sample)

Chapter One: The New Girl

Chapter Two: The Fair

Chapter Three: Dream-sharing

Chapter Four: A Stray in the Woods

Chapter Five: A Dog’s Life

Chapter Six: The Name Game

Chapter Seven: Recuperation

  • the following chapters are not included in this sample:

--

--

Remy Dean

Author, Artist, Creative Consultant in Education. ‘This, That, and The Other’ fantasy novels published by The Red Sparrow Press. https://remydean.blogspot.com